The 2019 ITEM Standards are available!

Executive Summary

The goal of this project was to update the ITEM Standards in Information and Technology Literacy. These standards are based on the AASL Standards Framework for Learning (2018) and ISTE Standards for Students (2016). The updated standards reflect ITEM’s mission and vision of supporting students to be effective users of information and technology. ITEM recognizes there are more standards from ISTE and AASL. These are the standards ITEM believes are most important to the goal of integrating information literacy and technology into learning for the students of Minnesota. The standards are divided into seven strands:

Strand 1: Inquire & Design - Students will develop strategies and/or design processes to find information/solutions relevant to their question or personal need.

Strand 2: Connect Globally - Students will work effectively with others to broaden perspectives and work toward common goals.

Strand 3: Collaborate, Communicate, and Create - Students will participate effectively in groups to pursue and generate information.

Strand 4: Collect, Organize, and Curate - Students will access and gather information efficiently and effectively.

Strand 5: Discover, Read, and Reflect - Students will gain an increased enjoyment of literature and informational text and grow in their ability to locate and select appropriate reading materials independently.

Strand 6: Engage as Digital Citizens - Students will demonstrate safe, legal, and ethical creating and sharing of knowledge products independently while engaging in a community of practice.

Strand 7: Problem Solve - Students will develop and employ strategies for understanding and solving problems in ways that leverage the power of computational thinking, cycles of design, implementation, and reflection.

ITEM Standards [2019].pdf

2007 & 2009 Standards Information

Information and Technology Educators of Minnesota (ITEM)
PO Box 130555, Roseville MN 55113 -

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software